Internet Banking Login

Access ID:
First Time User Login Questions

About Us

Mission Statement

MinnStar Bank is dedicated to providing our customers with quality financial services in an efficient and caring manner while protecting the investment of our shareholders. We are committed to enriching the communities we serve, and providing a satisfying place for our employees to work. We will carry out our mission by:

  1. Continuing to improve our services and responsiveness to our customers
  2. Seeking new investment and service opportunities in our communities
  3. Recognizing and training our employees
  4. Maintaining a strong and profitable bank

MinnStar History

MinnStar Bank National Association was chartered as a national bank in 1934 as The Lake Crystal National Bank. The company was formed by a group of local businessmen who sought to reorganize the First National Bank which closed its doors in 1933. The Lake Crystal National Bank built its present Lake Crystal office in 1974. The branches in Good Thunder and Mankato were acquired in 1990 when the Lake Crystal National Bank purchased The First State Bank of Good Thunder. In October 1992, the company name was changed to MinnStar Bank National Association in order to bring a unified identity of the bank to all three communities.

MinnStar Bank is owned by Lake Crystal Bancorporation, Inc. a bank holding company and governed by a six member board of directors. The company remains in local ownership and continues to grow and look for acquisition opportunities.

MinnStar Officers

Lake Crystal

Karen Ahrenstorff - Compliance Officer/Vice President
Judy Hayes - Chief Financial Officer
Thomas Evensvold - Senior Credit Officer/Vice President
Steve Olson - President/CEO
Betty Ouren - Human Resources/Vice President
Linda Reid - Loan Officer/Vice President
Kent Thiesse - Ag Loan Officer/Vice President
Ryan McCabe - Credit Analyst/AVP


Mark Monson - Senior Commercial Loan Officer/Vice President

Scott Nelsen - Commercial Loan Officer

David Thompson - Branch Manager/Vice President



Board of Directors

Cherie Clark-Stemig
Jordan, Minnesota
Board member since 2015
Paul Collis
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
Board member since 2006
Gordon Kuznia
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
Board member since 2012
Suzette E. Johnson
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
Board member since 1998
Matt Lantz, Chairman
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
Board member since 2009
Steven S. Olson
Mankato, Minnesota
Board member since 2003


Community Reinvestment

For more than 80 years, we at MinnStar Bank have believed that we have a responsibility to be active participants in the communities where we do business. That means more than giving money to charity. It means providing good jobs for people, paying taxes, buying goods and services from local suppliers and creating a culture within the bank that encourages employees to get involved. Our employees actively participate in their respective communities in both their business and personal lives.